Delete & restore pages

Camille Ricketts
Mar 25 '19 · 3 min read · 374 views
As with any work, there will probably be a time you want to get rid of it — often followed by a time when you want to get that work back. We've got you covered on both! 😙

Delete pages

There are many ways to delete content in Notion. Here are all of them:
  • Hover over the page in your left sidebar, click the ••• icon that appears (or right click) and select Delete from the menu.
  • Let's say you're working on a page but want to delete it. Go to the ••• icon at the very top right of your Notion window and select Delete from the dropdown menu.
  • If you're deleting a sub-page off of an existing page, hover over it and click on the ⋮⋮ icon (or right click) to see the option to delete.
  • Drag any page or content block into the Trash at the bottom of your left sidebar.
  • You can always select any page block and press the backspace or delete keys.

Find pages in trash

You'll see Trash at the bottom of your left sidebar on both desktop and mobile. When you delete a page, this is where it ends up. Clicking on it opens a menu that puts deleted pages in two categories:
  • All Pages: Literally all the pages that have been deleted across your workspace.
  • In Current Page: A list of the sub-pages that used to live inside the page you're currently viewing before they were deleted.
  • You can toggle between the two:
  • In Current Page will also show you all the database items that were contained in deleted sub-pages, since each of them is their own Notion page. So let's say you deleted a spreadsheet of sales records, you'd see every record as an individual deleted page in trash.
  • You can view the content of pages you've deleted by clicking on them in your trash. They'll appear with a red bar that gives you the option to restore or delete them permanently.
  • There's one more way to access deleted pages. Click the ••• icon at the upper right hand of any Notion page. This will open the trash menu and default to the In Current Page section:

Permanently delete pages

To remove a page completely from your workspace, go to Trash, find the page you're looking for (you can type to search or scroll through), and click on the trash icon next to it.

Restore pages

To restore pages you've deleted, go to Trash, find the page you're looking for, and click on the curved arrow icon next to it. It'll return to where it was last in your workspace.

Trash on mobile

On both iOS and Android, Trash is located at the bottom of the left sidebar. Clicking on it opens the same menu and options in full-screen.

FAQs

  • What if I accidentally deleted something permanently? Any way to get it back?
    If you accidentally delete a page, a workspace, or even your entire account, we can help! Accidents happen 😅Just send us a message in the app by clicking ? at the bottom left on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com.
    We keep per-minute backups of our database, which allows us to restore a snapshot of your entire content at any minute in the past 30 days if you need it.
  • How can I empty my trash?
    There isn't a way to empty your trash all at once. It functions more like an archive where you can find and restore your deleted content. To allay any fears, items in trash don't count toward your block limit on a Free Plan. And you can always go into trash to delete pages permanently individually.

Related guides

Something we didn't cover? Message us in the app by clicking ? at the bottom right on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com ✌️
Updating...

Share on