Delete workspace or account

Simon Last
May 9 '18 · 4 min read · 947 views
Maybe a workspace has outlived its usefulness, or you want to start fresh — or you're simply done with Notion (we'll try to be okay with that 🙃). Regardless, we want to make it straightforward for you to delete any workspace or account you create.

Delete a workspace

  • Go to Settings & Members.
  • In the window the pops up, click Settings in the sidebar.
  • Scroll down until you see the title Danger Zone. You'll see two options:
    • Leave Workspace: If you're not the only admin, you can leave a workspace. It will continue on without you and disappear from your list of workspaces, but you can always ask an admin to re-add you.
    • Delete Entire Workspace: This makes the entire workspace disappear for you and anyone else who belongs to it. Consider this process permanent.
      • A window will pop up to confirm this is what you want to do before we remove your data.
      • If you're on a paid plan, we may be able to restore your workspace within 30 days of deletion if you contact Community Support at team@makenotion.com.
  • Here's what this process looks like:
  • When you delete a workspace you pay for, your plan (Personal, Team, or Enterprise) will also be cancelled automatically and you'll no longer be billed for it.
🎒
Tip: When you delete a workspace, you'll still have access to any others you belong to. If you only belong to one, you can always start again.

Delete your account

When you delete your account, you lose access to all workspaces associated with that account. All paid plans you hold are immediately canceled.
  • Go to Settings & Members.
  • In the window the pops up, click My Account at the top of the sidebar.
  • Scroll down until you see the title Danger Zone. Click Delete My Account.
    • A window will pop up to confirm this is what you want to do before we remove your data.
    • We may be able to restore your account within 30 days of deletion if you contact Community Support at team@makenotion.com.
  • Here's what that process looks like:

FAQs

  • What if I accidentally deleted something permanently? Any way to get it back?
    If you accidentally delete a page, a workspace, or even your entire account, we can help! Accidents happen 😅 Just send us a message in the app by clicking ? at the bottom left on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com.
    We keep per-minute backups of our database, which allows us to restore a snapshot of your entire content at any minute in the past 30 days if you need it.
  • How can I migrate all my Notion content to a different workspace?
    To move your content from one workspace to another associated with the same account, click ••• next to each of the top-level pages in your sidebar (or right click) and select Move To. You'll see the option to move them to another workspace. When you move top-level pages, all their sub-pages go with them. They'll appear in the Private section but can be moved wherever you want to put them.
    If you'd like to move content from one account to another, follow these steps:
    1. Log into the account that has the content you want to transfer.
    2. Consolidate all your pages under one top-level page in your sidebar.
    3. Share that page by clicking Share at the top right, hitting Invite a Person, and typing the email associated with your other account. Make sure Full Access is selected from the dropdown.
    4. Now, log into the account you just invited to share this content.
    5. Click on the name of your workspace at the top of your left-hand sidebar to open the workspace switcher. Go to the top-level page that you just shared.
    6. Inside that page, select all the sub-pages, click ⋮⋮ and Move To. Select the destination workspace, and your content will be there! ✨
  • When I subscribe to a paid Personal Plan or Team Plan, does it cover all my workspaces?
    Paid plans only apply to one workspace, and don't cover the whole account. Workspaces are completely separate, so you won't be able to link any content between them.
    We recommend using the least number of workspaces possible, and taking advantage of top-level pages in your sidebar to stay organized.
  • How can I avoid needing multiple workspaces?
    We've seen people create multiple workspace instead of groups to set granular permissions. For instance, they create separate workspaces for Design, Marketing, their executive team, etc. so they can't access, edit, or get distracted by each other's work. You don't need to do this. Instead:
    • Disable Workspace Access. That way pages won't show for people and groups who aren't specifically granted access.
    • On every page, grant different levels of access per group. Those access levels will hold true for all the sub-pages on that page.
    • So, for example, you could have a section of your workspace just for the engineering team. Create a group of all your engineers, then on the top-level page for that team, turn on Full Access for only that group. Nest pages inside that page, and only the engineering team can access them, too!

Related guides

Something we didn't cover? Message us in the app by clicking ? at the bottom right on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com ✌️
Updating...

Share on