Guest access

Camille Ricketts
Apr 24 '19 ยท 4 min read ยท 620 views
Want to work in Notion with someone outside your team or company? You can invite guests to view or edit as many pages as you want. They'll only see what you want them to see, and you can give them different viewing and editing capabilities.

Guests vs. members

Guests are individuals external to your team who you invite into your workspace on a page-by-page basis. Common examples of helpful guests include:
  • Contractors or interns who are working with you temporarily.
  • If you're a contractor, you might invite your clients to work on pages as guests.
  • Friends, family, mentors, etc. that you want to have contribute to or review your work.
Here's how the Notion experience is different for guests:
  • They can't be given workspace-wide access. They must be invited to individual pages in order to view them and their sub-pages.
  • They can't create new pages outside of the ones they have access to.
  • They can't be added to groups of members. More on those here โ†’
  • They can't adjust workspace settings or billing information.
  • They can't add new members to your workspace.
  • Otherwise, they have the same capabilities as all other members.
๐Ÿ‘‰
Note: If you're on a Notion paid plan, you aren't billed more for guests, only members.

Add a guest

On any page you want to share with a guest:
  • Go to Share at the top right.
  • Press Invite a Person.
  • Enter the email address of any guest you want to invite.
  • Select a level of access for that guest from the dropdown and press Invite.
  • They'll receive an email with a link to the page.
  • If they don't already use Notion, they can sign up to access your page.
๐Ÿ‘‰
Note: When you invite a guest to a page, they can automatically access all of its sub-pages at the same permission level. There's no way to restrict access to sub-pages.

Change guest access levels

Once you've added a guest to a page, you can always change their level of access later ๐Ÿ”’
  • Go to Share at the top right. You'll see the page's guests listed in the dropdown menu.
  • Click the menu to the right of a guest's name. Choose which level of access you want to grant that guest from the following options:
    • Full Access: They can edit and share the page.
    • Can Edit: They can edit the page's content, but they can't share the page. (This is only available on paid plans.)
    • Can Comment: They can only read and comment, not edit or share.
    • Can Read: They can only read the content, and can't share it.
    • Remove: Revokes their access to the page.

View guests & permissions

You can see a list of all the guests in your workspace and the pages they each have access to by clicking Settings & Members at the top of your left sidebar and the Members tab.
  • Under your list of workspace members, find your list of guests.
  • To the right, you'll see how many pages each guest has been invited to. Click to see or hop to the pages they can access.
  • On any of these pages, you can edit their level of access or remove them.

Turn guests into members

Give any guest the ability to view your entire workspace by turning them into a member. Note: On Team and Enterprise plans, you'll be charged for each additional member.
  • Go to Settings & Members.
  • Scroll down to find your list of guests.
  • Click the dropdown to the right of the guest you want to convert. Select Convert to Member. They'll be moved to the bottom of your list of members.
  • In your member list, you can choose to make this person an Admin or to remove them from your team.
    • Only admins can change workspace settings and invite new members.

Remove guests

To remove a guest from a specific page (they may retain access to other pages):
  • Go to Share, find the name of the guest, click the dropdown to the right of their name and select Remove.
To remove a guest from all pages in your workspace at once:
  • Go to Settings & Members, scroll down to find the right guest and click the dropdown to the right side of their name.
  • Select Remove. They'll no longer be able to access any pages.

FAQs

  • I tried adding a guest to my workspace but they were turned into a member automatically. How can I prevent that?
    You may have the Allowed Email Domains setting turned on. When enabled, this feature allows people with that email domain to join your workspace as a member automatically. You can disable this setting in the Settings tab of Settings & Members in the left sidebar.
  • Is there a limit to how many guests can I add?
    Nope, you can add an unlimited number of guests on both free and paid plans. The more the merrier!
  • How can you turn a member into a guest?
    • Go to Settings & Members, scroll down to find the right member and click the dropdown to the right side of their name.
    • Select Remove. When you do this, they will lose access to all their private pages in this workspace, so make sure they have their private pages backed up elsewhere before you do this.
    • Once they've been removed as a member, you can re-add them as a guest from the Share menu at the top of any page.

Related guides

Something we didn't cover? Message us in the app by clicking ? at the bottom right on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com โœŒ๏ธ
Updating...

Share on