Lock page content

Camille Ricketts
Jul 31 '19 · 1 min read · 264 views
If you have a lot of people in the same workspace, it can be easy for accidental edits and changes to get made to a page or database. You can use Page Lock or Database Lock to prevent this without fully revoking edit rights from other members of your workspace.

Page Lock

For pages that contain non-database content, like documents, notes, wikis, etc., you can lock the content so that no one can make changes unless they explicitly turn the lock off — including you.
  • Click the ••• icon at the top right corner of your page.
  • Switch on the toggle next to Page Lock in the menu that appears.
  • Your page immediately becomes read-only for everyone.
  • You can tell if a page is locked because a gray Locked indicator will appear next to the name of your page in the top breadcrumb menu.
👉
Note: Anyone with full or edit access to your page can turn Page Lock off using the same toggle switch any time. It's designed to provide one layer of extra protection so people have to be intentional about the changes they make.

Database Lock

For full-page databases, you can lock in structure while allowing other members of your workspace to continue editing the actual data.
  • Click the ••• icon at the top right corner of the page.
  • Switch on the toggle next to Database Lock in the menu that appears.
  • Immediately, everyone on the page (including you) will only be able to edit the data the database contains — but not views, properties, or value choices for Select and Multi-Select properties.
  • Turn Database Lock off using the same switch in the ••• menu.
  • When a database is locked, a gray Locked indicator will appear next to its title in the top breadcrumb menu.

Related articles

Something we didn't cover? Message us in the app by clicking ? at the bottom right on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com ✌️
Updating...

Share on